Malcolm Gladwell

Malcolm Gladwell est l'auteur de cinq best-sellers du New York Times: The Tipping Point (Le point de bascule), Blink (Intuition), Outliers (Tous winners), What the Dog Saw et David and Goliath: Underdogs, Misfits and the Art of Battling Giants (La loi David et Goliath). Il a été nommé l'une des 100 personnes les plus influentes par le magazine TIME et l'un des plus grands penseurs au monde par le magazine Foreign Policy.

Le nouveau livre de Malcolm, Talking to Strangers: What We Should Know About the People We Don't Know, se penche sur nos interactions avec des inconnus et sur les raisons pour lesquelles elles font si souvent fausse route. Puisant dans l'histoire, la psychologie et des affaires criminelles tristement célèbres, Malcolm nous entraîne à travers une série de rencontres et de malentendus qui remettent en question nos préjugés sur la nature humaine et les stratégies complexes que nous utilisons pour comprendre les autres. Auparavant, l'auteur a exploré la façon dont les idées se propagent dans The Tipping Point, notre processus décisionnel dans Blink, et les ingrédients du succès dans Outliers. Dans David and Goliath, il analysait notre perception de nos points faibles, soutenant que ceux-ci étaient peut-être en fait nos points forts.

Malcolm est l'animateur du podcast Revisionist History, qui en est à sa cinquième saison et dans lequel il revient chaque semaine sur un aspect négligé ou incompris d'événements passés. Il est également rédacteur en chef du New Yorker depuis 1996. Malcolm a été honoré par l'American Psychological Society et l'American Sociological Society. Il était auparavant reporter pour le Washington Post et a remporté un prix national pour son travail éditorial. Orateur extraordinaire, Malcolm est à l’écoute de son public, fin pédagogue, pragmatique, éloquent, drôle et chaleureux, maîtrisant comme pas un l’art d’être aussi intellectuellement stimulant que divertissant.

Découvrez-en plus sur Malcom et son œuvre sur son site web.

Malcolm Gladwell

Malcolm Gladwell is the author of five New York Times bestsellers — The Tipping Point, Blink, Outliers, What the Dog Saw and David and Goliath: Underdogs, Misfits and the Art of Battling Giants. He has been named one of the 100 most influential people by TIME magazine and one of Foreign Policy magazine’s Top Global Thinkers.

Malcolm’s new book, Talking to Strangers: What We Should Know About the People We Don’t Know, offers a powerful examination of our interactions with strangers and why they often go wrong. Through a series of encounters and misunderstandings — from history, psychology and infamous legal cases — he takes us on an intellectual adventure and challenges our assumptions about human nature and the strategies we use to make sense of strangers, who are never simple. Malcolm has explored how ideas spread in The Tipping Point, decision-making in Blink, and the roots of success in Outliers. In David and Goliath, he examines our understanding of advantages of disadvantages, arguing that we have underestimated the value of adversity and over-estimated the value of privilege.

Malcolm is the host of a 10-part podcast, Revisionist History, now in its fifth season. In the weekly podcast, he re-examines an overlooked or misunderstood aspect of past events. He has been a staff writer for The New Yorker since 1996. He has won a national magazine award and been honoured by the American Psychological Society and the American Sociological Society. He was previously a reporter for The Washington Post. Malcolm is an extraordinary speaker: always on target, aware of the context and the concerns of the audience, informative and practical, poised, eloquent, warm and funny. He has an unsurpassed ability to be both entertaining and challenging.

Find out more about Malcom and his body of work on his website